CATAAlliance Celebrates Innovation Leadership: Highlights from the 30th Annual CATAAlliance Innovation Awards Gala
May 26, 2015

OTTAWA - The 2015 Award Winners were announced the evening of May 21st at a sold out Gala Dinner featuring a keynote address from Josh Blair, Chief Corporate Officer, TELUS, whose corporate mandate includes attracting and retaining the best talent, fostering world-leading team engagement and inspiring team members globally to put customers first and give back in an unparalleled manner to our communities.

Mr. Blair was joined by Executive Panel members Franca Gucciardi, CEO of the Loran Scholars Foundation, and Ajmal Sataar, Co-Founder, CigBins & Co President, Enactus, University of Ottawa for lively exchange and Q&A on the Gala theme of Innovation Leadership and Social Give Back.

Following CATA's passion for digital adoption, the winners were announced via Twitter and broadcast across the world on key social networks.

For three decades, the CATAAlliance Innovation Awards Gala has been celebrating the best in Canadian advanced technology from coast to coast and this year certainly did not disappoint!

CATAAlliance will continue to recognize the talent of this year's Award Winners over the summer months and into the Fall to bring awareness to new, upcoming, and trending Canadian technology companies and organizations. Winners and Sponsors were provided the opportunity to showcase their keys to success and innovation through a series of leadership videos produced by Keshet Technologies. The first video in this series of 30 interviews is set to debut the end of June.

CATA Innovation Awards 2015
Photo credit: Jeff Eastman

(Front-row left - right): Franca Gucciardi, Loran Scholars Foundation; Catherine Grosz, BMO Financial Group; Julia Fournier, HCMWorks

(Middle-row left - right): Tom Houston, Dentons LLP; Yi You, The Regional Municipality of York; Doug Kavanagh, CognisantMD; Jeff Smith, ALIO Health Services; Thi Nguyen-Huu, WinMagic Inc.; John Ruffolo, OMERS Ventures; Dan Bader, MobileSyrup; John Swan, Regional Municipality of York, John Reid, President/CEO CATAAlliance

(Back-row left - right): Bert van den Berg, NSERC; Stephen Myshak, Ventus Geospatial Inc..

During the Awards Gala, winners were presented with awards in the following areas:

  • CATAAlliance Special Award for Advocacy Leadership
    Winner: Tom Houston - Partner, Dentons LLP
  • "1 Change for the Better" contest
    Winning video:
  • The Peter Brojde Award for Canada's Next Generation Executive Leadership
    Winner: Kathleen Kemp - President, Enactus University of Ottawa and Co Founder, CigBins
    Finalists recognized in this category also include:
    Ajmal Sataar - Co Founder, CigBins and Co President, Enactus University of Ottawa, Tony Falco - President, Elekta Ltd., Jaime Leverton - Vice President, BlackBerry Limited
  • The Telfer School of Management Private Sector Innovation and/or Leadership Award in Advanced Technology
    Winner: John Ruffolo - CEO, OMERS Ventures
    Finalists recognized in this category also include: Thi Nguyen-Huu - President and CEO, WinMagic, Bruce Lazenby - President & CEO, Invest Ottawa
  • TELUS Outstanding Product Achievement Award to Recognize Mobility Health (M-Health) Innovation Excellence in Canada's Health Care Sector
    Winner: CognisantMD.
  • The Wilfrid Laurier University Award for Public Sector Leadership in Advanced Technology
    Winner: Bert van den Berg - Director, Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council
    Finalists recognized in this category also include: Marc Garneau, M.P. (Westmount, Ville-Marie), House of Commons, Lesley Lovett-Doust - President and Vice-Chancellor, Nipissing University
  • RBC Sara Kirke Award for Entrepreneurship and Innovation
    Winner: Franca Gucciardi - CEO, the Loran Scholars Foundation
  • Intel SME Innovation Award
    Winner: ALIO Health Services
  • EY Sara Kirke Award for Entrepreneurship and Innovation
    Winner: Julia Fournier - President and CEO, HCMWorks
    Finalists recognized in this category also include: Shahrzad Rafati - Founder and CEO, BroadbandTV; Dr. Laurelle Jno Baptiste - Co-founder and Chief Operating Officer, Scholarlab
  • Sprott School of Business at Carleton University Outstanding Product Achievement Award
    Winner: WinMagic Inc.
  • Celestica Award for Technology Commercialization
    Winner: Ventus Geospatial Inc.
  • CAMSC Corporate Advocacy Award
    Winner: Catherine Grosz - Supplier Diversity Manager, BMO Financial Group
  • Motorola Award for Public Safety Technology
    Winner: Versaterm Inc.
  • National Public Relations Prix de l'innovation pour l'Excellence dans le journalisme scientifique et technique medias/Excellence in Science and Technology Reporting Award
    Winner: Dan Bader - Editor-In-Chief, MobileSyrup
    Finalists recognized in this category also include: Victor Lucas - CEO/Founder, EP Media Ltd.;Bill Hutchison - Anchor, CTV Webmania
  • Cloud Computing Innovation Award for Excellence in the Public Sector
    Winner: The Regional Municipality of York

"This was one of the best Galas yet! There was such a positive buzz in the room, a mix of competitive spirit and camaraderie supporting the best in Canadian innovation," says John Reid, President and CEO, CATAAlliance. "Our Award winners and finalists have each demonstrated significant leadership as role models for the development of commercially successful enterprises in Canada. CATA is proud to act as an advocate for them, to share their stories, and to provide a platform of programs and services to assist in fostering their growth," says John Reid, CATA President.

The 30th Annual CATAAlliance Innovation Awards Gala was supported this year by the following corporate sponsors: